genesis-one-code-review

The Genesis One Code Book Reviews

  • Pierre St Clair

    To condemn before investigating is not the modus operandi of an intelligent person. That was the challenge – to read …,January 31, 2016

    The author tackles a difficult issue – the synthesis of Big Bag cosmology and Genesis of the Bible. Can he pull it off? Friedmann must have researched to the point of exhaustion (his bibliography shows it) and has come up with quite any accurate timeline that equates two totally opposite perspectives.

    Skeptics will say that the author simply reverse engineered some mathematics to arrive at his figures. However, it turns out that the code at the basis of this book was conceived of centuries ago – long before the Big Bang timeline even existed. To condemn before investigating is not the modus operandi of an intelligent person.

    That was the challenge – to read the book with a critical eye to determine whether this was fantasy or a breakthrough.
    I leave it to readers to make up their own mind, but I can add that Friedmann impressed me, and I’m not easily impressed..

    Pierre St Clair, author of “Cosmology on Trial” and other books.

  • Intellectually curious

    5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, November 12, 2013

    I found the Genesis One Code incredibly interesting and thought-provoking. The author’s approach was brilliant and creative to reconcile the “conflicting” theories of religion and science. It was refreshing to read a scientific and rationale approach to the issue. The author presents his case in a very logical and credible manner while making it easy to read. Everyone will enjoy this book and its unique approach. I recommend it to everyone.

    Intellectually curious

  • The Genesis One Code – Readers’ Favorite 2013 International Book Award Winner

    The Genesis One Code – Readers’ Favorite 2013 International Book Award Winner

    Readers Favorite Award Winner Daniel Friedmann offers a rational and reasonable theory. I highly recommend “The Genesis One Code”.

    Readers’ Favorite 2013 International Book Award Winner

  • Rich Deem

    Review by Rich Deem from Evidence for God- 4 stars- June 2013

    The Genesis One Code is an interesting, well-written examination of the Genesis one days from a Jewish Kabbalistic perspective. Author Daniel Friedmann has a good handle on the science behind modern cosmology and apparently, extensive knowledge of the Kabbalistic literature.
    However, the basic premise of of converting creation days into some fixed period of time corresponding to the historical timeframe of the universe results in irreconcilable conflicts between the Genesis one account and the record of science. In reconciling these conflicts, Friedmann nearly always turns to a highly figurative interpretation of Genesis one. Since I have no background in the Kabbalistic literature, I can’t comment on that, but would be interested in others’ perspective on how The Genesis One Code handles what must be at least somewhat diverse Kabbalistic interpretations of Genesis one.

    Rich Deem from Evidence for God

  • Hubert O’Hearn – the Book Reviews

    A rational, sensible theory, By the Book Reviews, May 24, 2013

    The Genesis One Code
    Daniel Friedmann (Trade Paperback) 219 pages, illustrated

    If religion did not involve itself in so many absolutely idiotic debates one wonders what it would do with its day. Pope Pius XII in 1951 may have endorsed the theory of the Big Bang as completely compatible with the Roman Catholic view of creation, however that was a moment of relatively modern enlightenment the number of which can be counted on one finger. Evolution or no evolution, the curious inconsistency of those who would ban abortion yet endorse violent jihad and the death penalty, the secondary status of women; well one could go on forever with this so let’s not.

    Daniel Friedmann chooses to leap into one of the contentious debates by attempting to reconcile the view of the Bible’s Book of Genesis (Earth created in six days) with that of modern science (Earth created over 13.7 billion years). To his credit, Friedmann mans up to his task and emerges with a rational, sensible theory which therefore will be rejected by fundamentalists on either side. More’s the pity.

    It really is unfair to boil an author’s 200 plus page book into a sentence, but that\s reviewing for you. Essentially, Friedmann’s argument is that God keeps time his own way. 13.7 billion years to God is six days to you or me. Further, The Genesis One Code argues that the Bible does get the order of things correctly – going from stars first and ending with Adam and Eve, people, plopped into Eden where they immediately start mucking everything up.

    It is quite an interesting read and Friedmann deserves congratulations for taking on a subject and institutions where the victory he can hope to achieve is at best Pyrrhic. All the more reason to give The Genesis One Code respect.

    by Hubert O’Hearn – the Book Reviews
    The best written reviews and most provocative author interviews available anywhere.
    http://bythebookreviews.blogspot.co.uk/

    Hubert O’Hearn the Book Reviews

  • Jas Madhur

    A worthy read to ponder over, May 6, 2013

    Dan was my former CEO, as such I am fully acquainted with his relentlessly incisive intellect.

    I stumbled on his book, quite by accident, during my pursuit of texts related to the Vedas and Kabbalah. Anyway, surprised as I was, I read his work and scribbled all over it during my Christmas vacation in Egypt wandering under the stars and architecture of ancient times.

    I have no quibbles about the mapping from Biblical to Earth time. Those sufficiently concerned will fine tune the transposition algorithms over time. Thanks in advance!

    However, I was left with a far greater fascination with the personages of seers like Moses.

    What is the make of such men who are so attuned with the motions of the universe to capture such deep insights? Today, we tease out truths with the scientific method (is it random? can we reproduce it? can we manipulate it?). Moses’ truths came from a different place … from that GOD thing.

    I look forward to reading about what Dan, or anyone else, has to say about Moses’ access into such fundamental truths.

    Overall: Worth reading and pondering over. Thanks.

    Jas Madhur

  • Bookpleasures.com

    5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book! Bookpleasures.com March 17, 2013

    The Genesis One Code should be read by everyone, whether Christian, Jew, Muslim, or otherwise. Those curious about the past will find the book compelling. Those wishing that the long prophesied End Times were just over the horizon will find the book encouraging. Those searching for solidity in the security of scientific summaries will find the book persuasive. The Genesis One Code has something for everyone.

    Bookpleasures.com

  • Rebeca S. Porter

    Enlightening, February 3, 2013

    This book is the perfect read for anyone who loves both Christianity and science. It joins the two beautifully and unbiasedly. I can’t wait to read more from his sources.

    Rebeca S. Porter Amazon.com reviwer

  • Gratham

    The “great debate” is over – God wins and science agrees!, January 30, 2013

    Daniel Friedmann shares his explanation of our origins in both science and religious texts – reconciling these disciplines to point towards the single truth “God created….” and science supports! The book will inspire the reader. It is a winning work, a great read filled with wisdom, that will result in animated discussions and personal moments of reflection and connection. A must read for any parent struggling to answer the “how” questions when science meets the creation story in Genesis..

    Gratham Amazon.com reviwer

  • Rob Robinson

    An Interesting Perspective, December 29, 2012, Teach the World Ministries

    Although I did not agree with all of the author’s premises in this book, I did appreciate the wonderful detail and specific information that is contained within. The theory of time being divergently different in space, depending on the place an object is located, brings great possibilities to our understanding of how six days of creation can be reconciled with 13.7 Billions years as the age of the universe.

    On a personal note: I think that in time we will have a much greater understanding of the Genesis account in terms of space-time.

    I learned a great deal from reading this book and found it to be exceptionally well written and for the most part, easy to understand. Despite many of the technical terminology.
    Rob Robinson Teach The Word Ministries

    Rob Robinson Teach The Word Ministries

  • Anne Billings

    I highly recommend “The Genesis One Code”, 5 stars!

    When a discussion on the origin of the earth comes up most people will have one of these two opinions. There are those who will take the side of science; they believe in the big bang theory and evolution. The other popular belief is that God created heaven, earth and all living things in 6 days and rested on the 7th day. Daniel Friedmann combines parts of the two theories. Friedmann does not attempt to discredit either theory but focuses on how they complement each other. Friendmann takes a look at creation from a unique, logical, and sensible approach.
    I enjoyed reading “The Genesis One Code”. The book of Genesis has always fascinated me. I truly believe that the foundation for the Christian faith can be found in Genesis. Currently I am teaching a Jr. High Sunday School Class. When I realized they had little Biblical foundation to build on I decided to change my teaching strategy and assist them in a study of Genesis. “The Genesis One Code” and its invaluable information came in at just the right time. I have also visited the Creation Museum in Petersberg, Kentucky, several times. While the museum and Friedmann do not completely agree with each other there are many points where they do agree. “The Genesis One Code” is well-researched. Author Daniel Friedmann has well-documented his sources. His writing style is fine and easy to understand. Mr. Friedmann uses a mathematical formula to “marry” the scientific and the creationist theories. This is a book that needs to be studied as it is being read. It also needs to be pondered on. There will always be those who are unwilling to compromise on their opinion of how heaven, earth and all living things were created. However, Daniel Friedmann offers a rational and reasonable theory. I highly recommend “The Genesis One Code”.

    http://readersfavorite.com/review/7547

    Anne Billings Readers Favorite

  • Grady Harp

    A Look from Both Sides: Finding Center, by Grady Harp HALL OF FAME/TOP 50 REVIEWER Amazon

    How things started has been a hot topic since Darwin’s theory of evolution and the subsequent discoveries of physicists and scientists throughout the subsequent centuries . Usually a book appears as a rant, descrying the ‘other side’ of the debate from the vantage of the writer’s opinion: either the universe was created billions of years ago by a Big Bang OR it was created in a religious mystery of great beauty called Creation. The genuine pleasure of reading this book – THE GENESIS ONE CODE – is the gentle manner in which author Daniel Friedmann marries the two concepts, not debunking either, but demonstrating through his scholarship how he believes that scientific theory and spiritual theory enhance each other.

    It is very helpful to understand the background of Daniel Friedmann and how he devised his concept, and from his biographical data we learn the following: `Daniel Friedmann is a student of the origin of the universe and life on earth both from the scientific and biblical perspectives. As author of The Genesis One Code, he demonstrates an alignment between the times of key events described in the creation narrative in the book of Genesis with those derived from scientific theory and observation. He is currently writing a second book entitled Adam and the Homo sapiens which will demonstrate an alignment between the key events and timeline recounting the appearance of humans in the book of Genesis with those derived from the fossil record and genetic studies. Born in Chile and raised in Canada, he is currently CEO of Canada’s leading aerospace company that built the Canadarms, and is involved in space exploration and the Hubble telescope. He is a professional engineer and holds a master’s degree in engineering physics. He has 30 years’ experience in the space industry, having worked on projects in fifteen countries while throughout the decades conducting extensive scientific research. He has published more than 20 peer-reviewed scientific papers on space industry topics and cosmology. He is also a longtime student of religion and for the past 14 years has attended the Vancouver Kollel center for learning. His work on reconciling the biblical account with scientific observation utilizing his biblical clock formula has been reported in various newspapers, magazines and radio talk shows. He is passionate about helping young adults put science and the Bible in correct context.’

    The Genesis One Code presents a careful examination of the relationship between scientific theory and biblical teaching, offering a fresh perspective informed by scientific and spiritual research. The book demonstrates an alignment between the dates of key events described in Genesis 1 and 2 with those derived from scientific theory and observation. This alignment provides a compelling perspective deserving of thoughtful consideration. What the book does not do is further separate the two visions of the beginning of the universe and the beginning of life: Friedman has taken the time to study the forms of the various names of the creator and the terms of the steps of development of the universe as we have grown to know it and to explore it, and in doing so he acts as the glue to bind both theories, putting to rest the hostilities of the arguments from both sides as being the only way conceivable!

    Whether the reader enters this discussion from the purely religious side or from the purely scientific side, the one (of many) points that Friedman makes is that there is no reason for combative separatism. His honesty and humility are most welcome, no matter the preconceived notions of the reader. Grady Harp, September 12

    HALL OF FAME TOP 50 REVIEWER VINE™ VOICE
    Disclosure: I received this book at no charge in exchange for my honest review

    Grady Harp HALL OF FAME/TOP 50 REVIEWER Amazon

  • Rabbi Andrew Rosenblatt

    As a Rav who was once a bio-organic chemist, the issues of creation science and biblical narrative have been an area of particular interest. The subject matter is one which requires a dual loyalty: one to accurate reading of the Torah and another to valid empirical and theoretical science.

    Daniel Friedmann is an individual thoroughly committed to both of these disciplines, accuracy in Torah and in Science. And his book The Genesis One Code is reflective of this commitment. I found that his treatment of the Physics, Astronomy, Biology and Paleontology was the most thorough that I have read on the subject. He has provided valuable theories for advancing a true synthesis of the disparate elements, and is not afraid to admit epistemological lacunae or intellectual challenges.

    Perhaps the most impressive aspect of the book is how well synchronized Friedmann’s theories are with the empirical chronology of the natural record. A second impressive element is Friedmann’s thorough survey of previous literature. I often judge a book by the quality of its notes. The Genesis One Code has copious and thorough notes, which speaks to both the honesty and humility necessary to advance the truth of this issue.

    Congregation Schara Tzedeck

    Vancouver, B.C.

    17th Elul 5772

    Rabbi Andrew Rosenblatt

  • David C. Bossard

    I have had a long-time interest in the Creation Narrative — how God proceeded in the project of creation: first the universe, then elements, and on to life, animals and the crowning glory, the creation of humans in his image. Daniel Friedmann read some of my work on the web, liked what he saw (I presume), and introduced me to his book, The Genesis One Code.

    Thank you, Daniel. I was amazed and pleased with what I found. To start, it is very well written, the clearest exposition of the Genesis Creation account that I have seen coming from his school of Kabbalist thought (a point of view that I previously had brushed up against — but not seriously studied — in Gerald Schroeder’s books God According to God: A Scientist Discovers We’ve Been Wrong About God All Along, and The Hidden Face of God: Science Reveals the Ultimate Truth).

    Perhaps the first thing that attracted me to this book is that he shares with me a belief in the authority and divine inspiration of the Biblical text. In my own analysis of the Genesis text I come at it from an entirely different point of view. My own view (published in some lectures on the Creation Narrative, posted on the web) is much closer to Church interpretation, genetically related to St. Augustine of Hippo’s 4th Century work, 41. St. Augustine, Vol. 1: The Literal Meaning of Genesis (Ancient Christian Writers). Daniel’s approach derives from the 11th Century Jewish Scholar Rashi and 12th Century Scholar Ramban (also known as Nahmanides), who exegete oral and written Jewish traditions that go back thousands of years.

    I am always interested in clear expositions of alternative viewpoints, particularly when combined with a high view of Scripture.

    The book, Genesis One Code shares another thing with my own studies of the Creation Narrative: a high respect and acceptance of modern science. An amazing thing has happened only within the past hundred years: Cosmology has moved from a religious, mystical, and — forgive me for saying it — superstitious concern, to a precise scientific discipline. The burning questions of the ages — Where did our world come from?, What is the origin of matter?, What are the stars, and how do they burn?, What is life, how does life sustain itself and pass its blueprint on to succeeding generations? — have all found answers within science just within the last, say, 60 years. I don’t say science has come up with the final answers, there is much more to do, but who would have thought that the superstitious and largely unrespected world of cosmology could have metamorphosed into a modern scientific discipline?

    The book deals with the timeline of the universe, and relates it to the six days of creation in Genesis One. He does this according to Kabbalist tradition, which lays out a 13.74 billion year timeline (!) that he asserts exactly matches the timeline of science (13.75± 0.13 billion years, from NASA’s WMAP satellite) as revealed by modern astrophysics and the geological record. I leave it to you to see how he does this. Hint: “For the LORD a thousand years is as … a watch in the night.” (Psalm 90:4, cf. 2 Peter 3:8 ” One day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day”).

    Just to mention one specific thing. Both St. Augustine’s (and my own) analysis conclude that the word “water” is used in two different meanings in the Genesis account. The change comes between Day Two and Day Three. According to Mr. Friedmann’s analysis, the same change in meaning occurs in Kabbalistic teaching. Isn’t that enough to pique your interest?

    I could say much more — Mr. Friedmann and I are in communication about a number of the fine points in his interpretation — but I’ll rest it at this. Whether or not you subscribe to Kabbalistic interpretation, this book is well worth your attention. Perhaps when all of my picayune comments are dealt with I might up my assessment to 5 stars.

    David C. Bossard

  • Richard Sand: Award-Winning Author

    Daniel Friedmann’s breakout book, The Genesis One Code, provides the reader with an excellent comparison between biblical teaching and scientific theory. It is a read you don’t want to miss.

    When was the dawn of creation? Six-thousand years ago with a divine act or 14-billion years ago with the Big Bang? Friedmann does not try to influence readers one way or the other. The Genesis One Code is masterfully done and is sure to create a lot of controversy.

    Richard Sand Award-Winning Author

  • N. A., BSc Biology and several years of Biblical studies

    In this book, the author has initiated the process of resolving some of the dilemmas faced by those who believe there is no contradiction between the Bible and recent discoveries of science.
    Daniel’s research is thorough, but his style is easy to read and his thesis represents a welcome breakthrough step towards ending the dispute between science and religion.

    N.A. BSc Biology and several years of Biblical studies

  • H. B. PhD Psychology, BSc Physics

    The author shows exceptional courage in this book. He attempts to reconcile the timing of the beginning of the universe and the timing of the development of life on Earth, as described by science and religion. Irreconcilable you say? If you have the courage to follow his analysis, you may be treated to one of the most significant synthesis of these two great forces in the world today.

    Think of it. The words of an 800-year old manuscript used to interpret Genesis, to predict and agree with what science has arrived at in the last decades. The meaning of such a discovery would be incredible. Read the book and judge for yourself.

    H.B. PhD Psychology, BSc Physics

  • Planet Weidknecht

    I really enjoyed reading The Genesis One Code. Friedmann writes in a pointed voice, easy to understand and follow, supporting his ideas with referenced resources. The Bible dates back so much farther than scientific discovery and it’s always bothered me that science attempts to discount that God created the world. It makes me much happier to see an alignment of science and creation, since God created both anyway! Five stars for this book!

    Planet Weidknecht

  • This book could cause a revolution

    The Genesis One Code was extremely well researched and provided a holistic view of religious and scientific standings, and creation theory. From the perspective of someone who holds, what felt like a basic understanding of the religions covered, I appreciated Friedmann’s synopsis of key religious texts to provide a supportive base for his theory.

    What I enjoyed is that throughout the text Friedmann asks profound questions that are usually interpretively answered and amalgamates them with scientific knowledge that makes these beliefs more palatable to either the ambivalent or deeply invested reader. His ability to find and navigate through a grey area of interpretation is a feat in itself. By challenging two polarized truths Friedmann succeeds in offering a conflicting perspective in a way that is not threatening to a deeply religious or scientifically inclined individual. It seems he has found compromise in a debate that has raged since the intellectual revolution—a huge accomplishment in my eyes!

    This book could cause a revolution.

    Carolyn Lawrence President & CEO Women of Influence Inc.

  • “Fascinating Possibilities!”

    “Those who struggle to balance faith and science regarding earth’s origins will want to read The Genesis One CodeThis book could cause a revolution!

    D. Christian Freelance Writer